Bury Me In Food

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Brisbane Brunch and Breakfasts: Cafeine October 23, 2012


One of the things I didn’t do much when I was in London was go out for brunch.  I found that Londoners generally started the day a lot later on weekends and some of my friends didn’t want to emerge until after 1 on a Sunday!! By then, it’s too late for me to want to order eggs and beans…so it’s just usually lunch fare.

I’ve been back in Brisbane for about four months now…and I think my weekend brunch ritual has well and truly been reinstated.  Some have been great…some, not so much.  Below is my thoughts on Cafeine.  I’m definitely a fan.

Cafeine

186 Cavendish Road | Coorparoo

It’s small and owned by a waitress that used to work at (overrated) breakfast heavyweight Gunshop Cafe. From the outside, it seems quite small, one table on the inside and two on the outside, you order, pay at the counter and take a seat.  I didn’t realise this the first time I went, but last week I visited, I realised there was a whole other section for seating inside (with aircon!!).

The food here slightly deviates from the usual and it is DELICIOUS.  The first time I went, I had scrambled eggs with mushrooms, tomatoes, feta and pesto.  The eggs were done in a ramekin and soft and fluffy almost like it was souffled and it’s tasty, and full of flavour ($17).

Worth mentioning also is their Mushroom and omelette toastie which is pretty much the above breakfast (sans tomatoes and feta) toasted between two turkish bread and is crisp and delicious (13.50).  Their coffees are fairly good, and their coffee smoothie is childlike yum (nostalgic of camp coffee) ($6).  I live not too far from here, so it’s a no brainer for brunch when I want to go local. Breakfast is served til 2pm also, so a bonus for those who like to have a bit of a sleep in.

Cafeine on Urbanspoon

 

Leave a Reply

