Bury Me In Food

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Brisbane Brunch and Breakfasts: Ashton and Old October 23, 2012

Filed under: breakfast/Brunch,Casual Eats — Dobsessed @ 10:39 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Ashton & Old

Shop 5, 459 Old Cleveland Road | Camp Hill

 

I noticed Ashton & Old after driving past it a few times, it’s on Old Cleveland Road, so quite a busy, heavy trafficked street and was keen to try it.

 

When I walked through the doors, I was pleasantly surprised, the space is bright and airy, quite inviting and at 10:00am in the morning on a Saturday, it had diners, but not heaving like most breakfast brunch places that you’d find in Brisbane – I guess that should’ve been my first clue…but I was all optimistic that day.

 

We were seated quickly by the bar seating facing the street at the window or issued with menus.  Again, I was excited, the menu was interesting, with items like corn cakes with avocado, blah blah type of leg of ham with poached eggs or salted caramel French toasts with stewed Stanthorpe apples and ice-cream – which is what we ordered.

 

The coffee came quickly, and it was acceptable and then the food came, and that’s where Ashton & Old let itself down.  The corn fitters were so dry and hard I reckon I could’ve bounced it agains the walls a few times and it would still have been intact.  It looked like it was made from polenta rather than actual corn. It was so dry in fact that you had to take a sip of water every time you wanted to swollow it.  Wait, I thought, we will crack the poached egg, maybe that will help.  The egg was hard poached.  Not even sticky orange yolk….it had been poached for so long it was now a hard boiled egg, worse, the egg yolk had gone completely yellow.  Not impressed.  The tomato salsa was just a few chopped onions and tomatoes, lacked flavour.  The whole breakfast was barely touched.

 

The French toast were OK, but there was not a lick of ‘salt’ in the salted caramel – not that I could taste anyways, and because of that, lacked a bit of dimention.  It was just sweet, upon sweet, upon sweet, with all the textures sort of melding together too…but it wasn’t BAD, and for a sweet tooth like me, no problems.  I don’t think non-sweet-toothers would’ve enjoyed it much.

 

The waitress came and asked if I wanted more coffee, to which I said no, then proceeds to take away my friend’s unfinished coffee!

 

Oh…and the pantry part? Everything was behind the counter (like on a shelft behind the staff) so it wasn’t like they were encouraging you to browse in their pantry.

 

When we paid, no one asked us how our meal was either.  So I guess we will just provide feedback with our feet and not return.

 

Ashton and Old on Urbanspoon

 

Leave a Reply

