Bury Me In Food

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Gallery Soho, Coorparoo August 20, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Dobsessed @ 2:36 pm
Tags: , ,

Back in Brisbane, and back into the breakfast scene…something that I didn’t really indulge in when I was in London…but something I just can’t seem to live without back here.

Last weekend, I decided to visit the Gallery Soho, in Coorparoo after driving past it numerous times.  It always looked inviting with green cushions with bench time seating with a wide window into the standing room only (orders only) interior.

The menu was extensive with the usual fare of eggs, toasts, sandwiches and burgers.

Having recently had brilliant avocado toasts at the Vintage Kitchen and Closet – across the road from the Gallery (post to come) I decided to order the same, cheaper than Vintage Kitchen and Closet at $8.50.  I also ordered an ice coffee (counter service).

Coffee was nothing remarkable…but arrived quickly.  Food also arrived quickly.  Excitement soon turned to disappointment when I was presented with buttered Turkish toast with anemic avocados, sans wedge of lemon.  I prodded the avocado a few times, and yep, definitely, they were so un-ripe as to be melon like. Completely inedible.  I ended up just eating the buttered toast, can’t say I’ve every paid that much for plain toast before. They do poached eggs, but I didn’t try any…but was told that they do their scrambled eggs in the microwave.

Other order of marinated steak sandwich ($12) looked apetizing enough, but again, same anaemic avocados were used and hardly any steak. 

I desperately wanted someone to ask me how my food was, but no service was forthcoming…and I won’t be forthcoming here anymore either.

The Gallery Soho | 07 3397 0020 | Shop 11, 342 Old Cleveland Road, Coorparoo
The Gallery Soho on Urbanspoon

 

 

Leave a Reply

