Bury Me In Food

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chinese Lion’s Head Soup August 29, 2010

Filed under: Home Cookery — Dobsessed @ 9:10 am
Tags: , , , ,

I’ve been on this low-car diet lately, so I haven’t been updating this blog very much recently…after all, who wants to read about how all I eat is meat? And my mum, watching my daily consumption of meat makes me worry for my kidneys. I’m still eating out, but whenever I do…my dish choices tend towards the unremarkable….or remarkable because every ends up commenting on my food choices. Yes…I’ve become one of those people I hate. I. Am. A. Food. Bitch.

No bread, no rice, no pasta, no corn, no potatoes, no peas! Very restricting!! And what am I cooking? Bolognaise sauce, that I just eat straight…I never knew how important pasta was until I have to eat Bolognaise by itself with nothing else to accompany it…definitely no crusty bread. I eat meatballs constantly…lucky I’m not sick of it, yet.

I’ve got the flu at the moment, so I’m in need of a lot of comfort food. Usually this is loads and loads of creamy, garlicky, bacony pasta…but not allowed on my diet, so I’ve had to make something else. This recipe for Lion’s Head Soup is a muted version to the original version. The original version’s sauce is usually more thick and meatballs, juicier…this is my comforting diet-friendly version.

Ingredients
Meatballs
500g of Heartsmart (or lean) pork mince (don’t use beef because it’ll be way too strong flavoured
1 tsp of salt
1 spring onion finely chopped
1 tablespoons of grated ginger
1 egg
2 tsp of sesame oil
broth
2 cups of chicken stock
2 cups of water
1 Chinese cabbage (wombak)
1-2 tablespoon of soy sauce (I used low salt – to taste)
1-2 tablespoons of oyster sauce (optional to taste)
1 tablespoons of grated ginger
2 tsp of sesame oil
1 spring onion chopped

– Mix all the ingredients for the meatballs together until slightly sticky.
– Put everything for the broth into a big pot and press down the cabbage until they are all wilted. This may take a while as there are a lot of vegetables.
– Once the cabbage has wilted and the broth has started bubbling, drop the meatballs in. I use a rounded teaspoon and roll into a ball and drop them in.
– Let them bubble away, but try not to stir too much or you’ll end up breaking up the meatballs
– Add more water if you like if you think it needs it.
– Simmer for about 30 minutes, and it’s ready to serve.

It’s a lightly flavoured soup that’s very good when you’re sick!

 

3 Responses to “Chinese Lion’s Head Soup”

  1. Trang Tran Says:

    Are you on a low carb high protein diet? I love Asian soups…I really should make more Asian food for Kostas…. Hope you are feeling better.

    • Yeeshin Says:

      Yes, I am! Cooking lots to make sure I don’t get bored. I’m feeling much better today, think I can even go to work tomorrow!

  2. […] Breakfast: – A big bowl of Lion’s Head Soup […]


Leave a Reply

