Bury Me In Food

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Scallops with fried egg and balsamic vinegar July 11, 2010

Filed under: Food,Home Cookery — Dobsessed @ 6:17 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

This is an adaption of Gordon Ramsey’s scallops and quail egg recipe.  I made this for dinner tonight and it was delicious, probably works better as a starter because it’s not filling, but I ate like 4 lamb sheek kebabs, a hot dog, two sausage sizzles, butter chicken, naan, steak…and more today, so this was more than enough.  I made this with what was available in my pantry and my fridge, so no quail eggs, no pea purees…but it tastes delicious.  I like my scallops lightly seared, and raw in the middle so that it keeps its al dente-ness (don’t know if you can use al dante to describe scallops…but I hate over cooked scallops!) and I also like my egg yolks runny and they ooze all over the scallops and that with the balsamic gives it a nice, rich creaminess.
Ingredients

– Scallops, I used 10 small scallops, but if you have fat scallops,  you could slice them through the middle so that you get two thinner ‘coin’ shapes

– 1 egg

– curry powder

– salt and pepper

– drizzle of balsamic vinegar, mine was flavoured with macadamia nuts

1 Cook the scallops for about 30 seconds on each side, and as it’s cooking, dust it lighting with a slight pinch of curry powder, flip and repeat

2 Remove scallops onto a plate and fry your egg until the whites are cooked but the yellow is runny

3 Place the egg on the scallops and season with salt and pepper and lightly drizzle with balsamic vinegar.  I would recommend not using more than a teaspoon

4 Break the yolk over the scallops and EAT!

 

3 Responses to “Scallops with fried egg and balsamic vinegar”

  1. Tes Says:

    It looks so yummy! It sounds so simple to make. I think my husband will love it.
    Thanks for sharing,
    Tes

  2. Slightly OT for this recipe, but I saw your tweet about Tori Spellings breast implants – gross. I made the Devine’s cheesecake this evening, it’s in the fridge setting now, I’ll be having some for dessert tomorrow night I think. If the spoon-lickings were anything to go by, it’s a winning recipe.

    Try it out: http://devine.wordpress.com/2010/07/19/low-fat-cheesecake/

    I found I only needed 1tbsp of sweetener – but I used natural, not greek yoghurt. Is there a difference? Anyway, it’s well worth trying I reckon!

  3. What an excellent dinner party dish! It looks so simple too which is such a bonus! 🙂


Leave a Reply

