Bury Me In Food

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Gluten Free butterscotch cake with butterscotch cream cheese frosting July 3, 2010

Filed under: desserts,Home Cookery — Dobsessed @ 2:20 pm
Tags: , ,

Fresh from dieting failure, I thought I’d make a cake. I’d start a new diet except my mum makes the best lakes I’ve ever had in my life, and I’m not starting ANY diet before eating that, so I’m just going to start next week.

I decided to break out my sadly neglected Kitchenaid with my new beater blade that my brother had gotten me from the States. The beater blade is plastic and not metal like the blade the Kitchenaid usually has but it’s quite sturdy and did a top job of beating, and scraping the sides of the bowl at the same time. Very pleased.

Here’s a recipe for the butterscotch cake with butterscotch cream cheese, you can definitely use normal flour to make it, I’d actually adapted it from a normal recipe, so it probably works better.

Ingredients

225g of softened unsalted butter
125g of light brown sugar
80g of caster sugar
4 eggs
1 1/2 cups of gluten free self-raising flour, sifted three times (I used White Wings brand)
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 tbs milk
400g of cream cheese – use full fat, low fat is too runny

Butterscotch sauce
This butterscotch sauce is a lot sweeter and more honeyed than usual butterscotch that I usually make, this is because you actually use this butterscotch sauce to sweeten the cream cheese frosting.

60g t0 70g of butter
75g of light brown sugar
50g of caster sugar
40g of runny honey
2 tbls of golden syrup
150ml thickened cream
1 tsp vanilla extract

1 Preheat oven to 170C and line an 8 inch round cake pan.
2 Beat butter until soft, add sugar and beat until pale and creamy.
3 Beat in an egg at a time with a tablespoon of flour (make sure the flour is triple sifted!).
4 Beat in vanilla nd fold in the remaining flour and add the mill and mix.
5 Put it in the pan and bake for around 40 – 45 minutes. The cake is ready when a skewer comes out clean.
6 Divide the cake into two rounds.
7 For the sauce, melt everything together except for the cream. Once it starts to develop some bubbles, add in the milk and stir, take it off heat and cool.
8 Beat all the cream cheese until soft, add in most of the butterscotch sauce, save a couple or 3 of butterscotch sauce.
9 Fill the cooled cake with the frosting and top and drizzle butterscotch sauce on top.

 

3 Responses to “Gluten Free butterscotch cake with butterscotch cream cheese frosting”

  1. Bec Says:

    Yeeshin you just crack me up…”fresh from dieting failure”…god you are bloody funny luv! bec x

  2. mintybonbon Says:

    My best friend loves butterscotch! I will definably make this to share ^_^ I love your baking ❤

  3. Fay Says:

    Greate pieces. Keep posting such kind of info on your blog.
    Im really impressed by your site.
    Hi there, You have done a great job. I will certainly digg it and in my view recommend to my friends.
    I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this site.


Leave a Reply

