Bury Me In Food

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Tex Mex 7-layer Dip January 18, 2010

Filed under: Casual Eats,Food,Home Cookery — Dobsessed @ 7:34 pm
Tags: , , ,

Tex Mex New Years Dinner

Crazy me, bored on New Year’s Day decided to invited my family over for dinner, never a simple affair as I have three sisters (and their husbands), my brother (and his girlfriend) and five nieces and nephews.  Not everyone could attend, so it was only a ‘small’ gathering of 11.

I’d decided on a Mexican (well, Tex Mex) theme as I love chili (chili con carne) and I also had a New Year’s Resolution of no more wheat – and Tex Mexican food more than caters for that.

To keep things simple, I decided on a huge vat of chili, a 7-layer dip and my raspberry cheesecake brownies (I’m not the biggest fan of chilli chocolate, otherwise I would’ve done a chilli chocolate mousse).

The ‘vat’ of chili took all day to cook, and I had to change pots midway through because the pot wasn’t big enough, I ended up using the biggest pot we have in the house, 1.2kg of mince (beef, veal, pork), lots of chorizos, half a bottle of wine, cans and cans of pureed tomatoes, 3 or 4 onions, 6 cloves of garlic, 5 or so of red capsicums, 4 carrots, 4 zucchinis and about 6 tomatoes along with cans of kidney beans and spices,

I can’t really give you the recipe as I tasted as I went along…but everybody said it was delicious with most taking a container of chili home.

My 7-layer dip also went down well and it was so easy to make!

From bottom layer up:

1 can of refried beans, heated in a saucepan;

A mix of 250g sour cream, ¼ cup of whole egg mayo and 1 pack of taco seasoning;

1 layer of pizza plus cheese (mix of cheddar, mozzarella etc)

1 layer of diced fresh tomatoes (about 3 or 4)

1 layer of hot taco sauce

1 layer of sliced black olives

5 spring onions, sliced finely

Very tasty, especially with toasted corn tortillas.

Despite the mess and clean up, despite kids peeing everywhere, juice flying, the evening was a success.

 

Leave a Reply

