Bury Me In Food

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Adriano Zumbo’s Panna Cotta December 1, 2009


I. Am. Sick.

So, why the hell am I cooking? Well…if you read my dieting blog: Love My Fries, Hate My Thighs, you’ll know that I went to Bread Top and I bought a bag of taro fill buns, a bag of butter coconut buns and a taro gateaux and ate them and got horribly sick.  I decided to make Panna Cotta for a number of reasons:

1. I had all the ingredients in my ‘Baking Box’.

2. I’ve been wating to try out the gelatin leaves and the dariole molds I bought.

3. I need to have something to eat to stop myself from eating the rest of those breads!!

I’ve never made Panna Cotta before, and after make this within 10 minutes, I think they’re rather easy, I still manage to stuff mine up because I caramelised the sugar too long and they burned so my panna cotta, though absolutely perfect in texture – it wobbled like a woman’s breast (though, I must admit, a lot more firmer than my breast, so let’s assume a 20 year old’s perky breast) and had the smoothest texture ever.  If it weren’t burnt, it would’ve been truly delicious.

My dariole molds were aluminium (I figured I could use it to make chocolate fondants or sticky date puddings etc etc) but it made it a bit hard to pop the panna cotta out of the molds.  I ended up heating the sides of the molds with my blow torch and inserting a thin knife and tapping it so it plopped out onto the plate.  Plopped. Yes, that’s exactly what it did.  I also didn’t have any nutmeg, so I just omited it.

Adriano Zumbo’s Panna Cotta (this was a pressure test on Masterchef) – This is what I did:

1/4 cup of caster sugar

1 vanilla bean, split, seeds scraped

250 ml of pure cream

1 gelatin leaf

I put the cream in a sauce pan heated it on medium high heat.  I put the sugar and the vanilla bean and seeds in a dry pan and cooked it until it caramelised.  This is where I overdid it and burnt the caramel, but the goal is to not burn it.  Add the warm cream to the caramel and stir.  WARNING: It was sputter, so don’t pour all the cream in at once.

Soak the gelatin in water until soft.  Squeeze out excess water and add it to the cream mixture.  I’d never used gelatin before, so didn’t know what to expect, for me, it was like picking up slimy jelly, so don’t worry, not much water will ‘squeeze’ from it.

Strain the mixture through a fine sieve and cool the bowl in iced water.  I didn’t have this so I just cooled it in a bowl with some cold water, I didn’t do this step long enough though because when I poured the mixture in the dariole molds, it was still quite hot.

Leave it in the fridge til set – took way longer than an hour for me.

This is a small recipe, it only filled two molds, I’m going to double the recipe to make 4 tomorrow.

 

2 Responses to “Adriano Zumbo’s Panna Cotta”

  1. […] Still not pleased…but if I quit pilates, I can see my ass wobbling on a plate like the panna cotta I just […]

  2. yeeteng78 Says:

    Can’t wait! And save me a butter bun


Leave a Reply

