Bury Me In Food

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My Homemade Oreos November 27, 2009

Filed under: desserts,Food,Home Cookery,Pastries — Dobsessed @ 6:49 am
Tags: ,

I watched Julie and Julia the other day and it turns out that Julie Powell gained 9kg in 365 days cooking for Julia Child’s cookbook and you know what?  I thought it was pretty impressive that she didn’t gain more weight from it.  I bake.  I eat and I bake some more and I’ve probably put on 5kg in the 2 months I’ve started regularly baking.

 

These days, I’m more likely to skip pilates and bake. Two days ago, I blamed it on tiredness and ate pies.  Last night, I blamed it on the storm (and then promptly went out in the storm to buy Copha so I could make Oreos).  It’s totally irrational.  It’s terrible for my thighs but I’m lost and I’m absolutely addicted.

 

One of my favourite cookies are Oreos.  I love Oreos, I love breaking them apart, and I love spreading crunchy peanut butter on them and eating them slowly, I love dunking them in milk and I love eating the white filling last.  Because I can no longer really eat Oreos anymore, I decided to bake my own.  I made a Devil’s Food Cake recently, and the rich, dense, deep cocoa flavour really reminded me of Oreos and that what gave me the inspiration.  Most recipes I trawled through on the internet suggests using a Devil’s Food Cake recipe but that didn’t really appeal to me, so I flipped through this beautiful book I bought recently, Organic and Chic and  halved and adapted the recipe in the book and it worked rather well.   The cookies were fairly close in taste to real Oreos, it just didn’t have the crunch and were like chewy cookies.  Some people who tried it said they preferred it that way.

 

The cookies were quick to make, but cutting them and then baking them in batches took a bit of time, no matter, I just watched YouTube while they bake their requisite 8 minutes. The first batch I made, I baked for 10 minutes, they got slightly too brown and the lone cookies (without the icing) were a bit bitter.  I baked the rest at 8 minutes but I really wished I had baked them for 10 because the 8 minute cookies were chewy whereas, for them to be truly like Oreos, they needed the crunch.  I think next time I’d also bake them in a slightly cooler oven, and for 11 minutes so they dried out the cookie a bit more.  My tasters at work liked the chewiness though, so maybe you could do a variation?

 

Cookies

  • 115g softened unsalted butter
  • 1 cup of caster sugar
  • 1 egg – room temperature
  • 1 tablespoons of vanilla extract (I love vanilla)
  • 1 cups of cooking cocoa (don’t use drinking chocolate – that’s too sweet)
  • 1 cup of plain flour (I used White Wings gluten free flour)

Icing

  • 2 and a bit cups of pure icing sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 50g of Copha

1. Line your baking sheets with baking paper

2. Cream the butter and sugar then add the egg and vanilla.

3. Sift the cocoa and the clour together and slowly add to the buttery egg mixure until combined.

4. put a lump of the dough on the baking sheet, put another baking sheet on top and roll it out with a rolling pin.  I don’t have a rolling pin, so I used a vodka bottle.

5. Chill it in the fridge for about 30 minutes or so.

6. Preheat oven to 180 degrees celsius (or 160 degrees celsius if you’re baking it for 11 minutes).  Use cookie cutters to the cookies out and re-roll excess dough and repeat.

7. Bake for 8 – 10 minutes and allow to cool on a wire rack.

8. For the icing, mix everything together – I melted the copha in the microwave.  The icing will look nobbly and hard, but ignore this, and just spread it onto the cookies with a knife (you won’t be able to pipe it).  Store in an airtight container. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

