Bury Me In Food

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Baguette | Bistro + Bar • 150 Racecourse Road Ascot Q 4007 • t (07) 3268 6168 • f (07) 3268 2607 November 21, 2009


During my holidays, I only managed to fit in two $30 lunches, Baguette being my second.  I had previously only been to Baguette for dinner, and have always liked it.  I think one of the things I like about it, other than the great food, is the décor…very open, modern but still charming.  Mismatched paintings, stainless steel ceiling fans, high ceilings, glossy tables, it all works – I can certainly see why people who choose to have weddings here.

 

I’d called up earlier to see if they cater for children and I was dining with my sister and my beautiful niece and they were very nice over the phone and assured us that the little ones are definitely allowed there.

 

We arrived just before 12 and were seated, thoughtfully at a table for four, so that Charlotte’s high chair could be comfortably placed without us feeling like a nuisance to the rest of the restaurant, often the case when a baby is in tow (or three – I have four nieces and nephew under 3).

 

My sister and I both order the $30 lunch which comes with a main and a dessert, both with a glass of wine or softdrink.  Interestingly enough, children are more than catered for with kids meals listed in the menu: fish and chips, steak and chips, pasta plus a drink and a scoop of ice-cream for a meager $1.50 per year of age of the child! Bonus! My sister didn’t want Charlotte to make a mess, she’s teething at the moment, so being grumpy, she’s into flinging things around the place, so she just ate her trusty mushy baby bottled food.

My sister’s salmon looked completely cooked (we both like our salmon medium) but was soft and tender, she felt the crème fraiche was a bit too strong.

My veal was beautifully tender, the spinach, melting on an absolutely delicious sauce.  My sister had major food envy and needless to say, I polished off the whole lot and even wiped my beer battered chips we’d ordered as a side, in the sauce to try to get as much of it as I can (and I’m definitely not into mopping up food from my plate).

 

We both chose the same dessert, caramelised pineapple with coconut crusted vanilla ice-cream and pistachio crumble.  The pineapple was sweet and beautifully caramelised and the ice-cream went well with it, however, I was a bit disappointed that the pistachio crumble were burnt.

 

The service was impeccable, friendly and the atmosphere was relaxed and not pretentious, I do feel dinner is a bit more aloof though.  We left as the dining room were filling up with poppy-donned customers (for Remembrance Day).

 

Leave a Reply

