Bury Me In Food

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Butterscotch Latte Cupcakes October 27, 2009

Filed under: desserts,Food,Home Cookery,Pastries — Dobsessed @ 10:15 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Butterscotch Latte Cupcakes

I really wanted to bake today because I received my delicious, gloriously red KitchenAid yesterday.  I bought it from Kitchenware Direct, it was great, $100 cheaper than what I saw in the shops, and it arrived within 6 working days (quoted 5-7 days) and in mint perfect condition, no dents or nicks – I checked.

On the weekend, I’d spent four and a half hours baking a Salted Caramel Cake with Brown Butter Frosting, a Daring Baker’s Challenge from last year, but I liked the idea of salted caramel and thought I’d challenge myself and gave it go.  The cake was pretty good, the whole cake was polished off within two days, but I was left with memories of the brown butter frosting (deliciously butterscotch) and a big container of left-over caramel syrup.  I decided to kill two birds in one stone, that is, break in my KitchenAid and use some of the caramel syrup.

I thought hard about what would go with butterscotch/caramel and my friend Nancy came to my mind.  We’re both known for drinking our ‘fake’ coffees, fake because she drinks caramel lattes, and my coffee order of ‘White chocolate mocha on skinny soy, extra shot with no cream” usually gets me a raised eyebrow or two.  I guess this cupcake is inspired by her coffee order :-).

butterscotch latte cupcakes

Butterscotch Latte Cupcakes – A recipe by ‘Bury Me In Food’

Makes 12 cupcakes

Ingredients

Cake

175g gluten free self-raising flour (I used Organ’s) – Sifted

175g softened unsalted butter

130g caster sugar

3 large free range eggs

4 tbls of Caramel Syrup (look for the recipe by searching for salted caramel cake)

1 tbls of coffee disolved in 2 tbls of hot water or 40ml shot of espresso

Frosting

90g of butter

220g of icing sugar

1 1/2 tbls of caramel syrup

1 1/2 tbls of cream

1 tsp of coffee dissolved in 1tbls of hot water

Freshly ground rock salt

Method

1. Preheat oven to 180c (fan forced).

2. Cream butter and sugar.  Add sifted flour, eggs and whisk. I did these in parts, eg. flour, eggs, whisk, flour, eggs, whisk etc.  Add caramel syrup and coffee and whisk until it is well incorporated.

3. Ladle into 12 paper cup cake cases and bake for 15 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean.

4. Take cupcakes out of the oven and brush more syrup over the top – 1 layer is fine.

5.  For the frosting, melt butter on medium heat until it is brown and you can smell nutty, butter.  Don’t burn the butter or it will taste bitter.  Allow the butter to cool and strain through a fine sieve to get rid of all the gritty brown bits.

6. In a bowl, place your butter and icing sugar and whisk, gradually add the caramel syrup, coffee, cream until it’s thick. Ice the cupcakes with the frosting.

The combination of the slightly bitter coffee scent and the sweet butterscotch frosting went perfectly with the coffee came (not much of the caramel came through) but the coffee is faint and not overpowering.  The cake itself is soft, spongey and not crumbly.  There were slightly larger salt crystals in the frosting which contrasted well with the sweetness. This recipe can be adapted by using your usual non-gluten free flour.

 

3 Responses to “Butterscotch Latte Cupcakes”

  1. Emma Says:

    Mhmmm… Sound good, I’m thinking of the salted caramel taste. The piping looks good, how did u do that?

  2. yeeshin Says:

    Yeah, the larger salt crystal just pops in the mouth with the sweet, very nice. It wasn’t hard! Just using 1 flat tip, but it took me about half an hour!

  3. Amanda Says:

    These were delicious! It took a while to actually take a bite because the icing was just too cute to eat, but it didn’t last long after the first bite. So glad I bumped into you that morning, thanks 😀


Leave a Reply

