Bury Me In Food

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Misshapen Lemon & Lime Tarts September 27, 2009

Filed under: desserts,Food,Home Cookery,Pastries — Dobsessed @ 9:01 pm

My Misshapen Lemon & Lime Tarts

My Misshapen Lemon & Lime Tarts

For those who know me, they won’t deny that I’m one of the most impatient people in the world.  I hate waiting, I’m known to call if people are five minutes late.  I cannot handle Myer during Boxing Day sales, and warehouse Sass & Bide $5 jeans sales? Even that won’t entice me.  Pretty much the only thing I’ll wait for is food…(I waited 37 minutes for a table at Yum Cha on Saturday!!).  My love of food, however, has not allowed me to display patience towards baking.  My food tends to taste OK (or so people I cook for tell me), but they’re generally quite ugly.  I’m working on it!

Ever since I had a lemon & Lime tart with blood orange ice-cream at Freestyles Tout (in West End), I’ve been craving it.  Thin crispy short crust pastry, butter, tart lemon and lime custard, creamy blood orange ice-cream…I was thinking about them for weeks.  In the end, I decided to make some myself.  I’m not usually a fan of very sour desserts, so I trawled the internet for recipes until I found one that I thought would work well.  It’s Wolfgang Puck’s recipe, which you can find here http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/wolfgang-puck/caramelized-lemon-lime-tart-recipe2/index.html.  Because I’m impatient, because I’ve yet to master the art of really cooking that well, I cheated and bought frozen short crust pastry and just made the curds to go in them.  I haven’t yet bought a blow torch, so I didn’t do the cramelised top either (which might’ve cut the acid actually), I decided to just serve them with cream.

ugly_tart5

My tarts were ugly for a number of reasons.  I didn’t have a cookie cutter (I usually make cakes or fat chewy cookies rather than a flat dinosaur like cookie), so I used my mum’s rice measuring cup and traced them with a knife.  I wasn’t very tidy – I’m working on being a perfectionist too.  The pastry was a bit thick – should’ve rolled them thinner (I didn’t have a rolling pin, I used a glass water bottle – learnt this from my grandmother).  My tart filling worked quite well though I thought…I used roughly two lemons and 6 limes.  The response to them were very mixed…so I think it all depends on one’s palete.  Pretty much everyone in my family thought they were way too sour, I’m not a fan of sour usually, but I actually liked them! One of my sisters thought that there weren’t enough lemons in them – she’s had a baby recently, so I think her taste buds are not stable.

My work colleagues were all generally pretty positive (I baked and shared, what would they really say?) but one girl did gag and spit it out (she’s not a fan of egg apparently).  My chocolate themed desserts usually provides for a more consistent response.  With such mixed reviews, I may have to perhaps perfect the misshappeness of my tarts before I try again.  After all, no one likes an ugly tart, do they?

 

One Response to “Misshapen Lemon & Lime Tarts”

  1. Jo Jo Says:

    If you do this in my house.. you will have all the utensils (except for the blow torch) you need and someone to help you eat it too…


Leave a Reply

