Bury Me In Food

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Souffle – Attempt no. 2 – SUCCESS! White Chocolate and Lime… July 19, 2009

Filed under: Food,Home Cookery — Dobsessed @ 5:11 pm
Tags: , ,

whitechoclimesouffle

I feel like I’ve been able to jog 30 minutes straight without having to stop!  Ok…maybe that would be bigger feat, but I baked souffles today and they worked!  I found a base recipe and just tweaked it, by adding my own flavours – in this case, white chocolate and limes.  I think it works…it’s a perfumed sweetness, I might have to add more limes next time, and maybe some pistacios as well.  Anyways, these were lovely, sweet and light and I really enjoyed it – really easy too! Here’s my recipe:

White Chocolate and Lime Souffle

Ingredients

Base:

5 egg yolks (I used organic free range minimum size 60g each)
200ml of milk
180g of white chocolate
2 tbls of corn flour
zest of two limes
zest of two lime juice

Egg white Mix

5 egg whites
125g of caster sugar

+

Softened butter
caster sugar

Method

  1. Preheat the oven at 180 degrees (fan forced).
  2. Butter the ramekins with a bristle brush in a upward stroke and coat with caster sugar and stick it in the fridge.
  3. Whisk milk and corn flour together in a pan over medium heat, it’ll become the consistency of paste, keep whisking to prevent lumps.
  4. Once it’s in a paste like mixture, take it off the heat and add the lime juice, zest and the chocolate.  Keep whisking, and then add the egg yolks and whisk until all the chocolate pieces are melted and mixture is smooth. Set aside.
  5. With an electric mixer, whisk egg whites until soft peaks, add the sugar in three parts, whisking each time. Should have soft peaks and be glossy.
  6. Add one big dollop of egg white mixture into the chocolate mixture and mix.  Next add the rest of the egg whites into the rest of the mixture in fold gently.
  7. I used a ladle, and I ladled the final mixture into the ramekins, making sure there are no drips on the side.
  8. Bake it for 10 – 12 minutes.
  9. Dust with icing sugar and serve immediately – I suggest pouring cream, sorbet, biscotti or vanilla ice-cream.

So easy and yummy. 🙂

whitechocsouffle_edited-1

 

5 Responses to “Souffle – Attempt no. 2 – SUCCESS! White Chocolate and Lime…”

  1. Emma Says:

    hey, i want some!

  2. Jackie Says:

    How can I adjust the oven temperature and baking time if I’m using a regular 8 inch souffle dish?

  3. tg's Says:

    Remarkable! Its really awesome article, I have got much
    clear idea about from this piece of writing.


Leave a Reply

