Bury Me In Food

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chocolate Souffle: Take 1 July 11, 2009

Filed under: Food,Home Cookery,Uncategorized — Dobsessed @ 5:30 pm
Tags: , ,

Chocolate Souffle Souffle is one of those things that I think every one thinks will be really difficult to make, so no one ever tries to make it and just end up ordering it restaurants.  I love them, I like how they are light but is full of sweetly goodness.  The last great souffle I had was at Mondo – please read my Mondo post – which was pistacio souffle, really enjoyed that.  I’ve had chocolate souffles as well, but I didn’t like it as much as it tasted really bitter.

It was actually a really simple recipe.  I gave my 7 year old nephew the task of grating the chocolate.  This turned out to be a huge mistake because he ended up grating some of the foil encasing the chocolate and I had to dump half of it out.  All the other ingredients were really easily accessible too – no wheat flour either, only corn flour, something I think is in every Chinese kitchen.

Ingredients

For the dishes

  • 25 g unsalted butter for greasing
  • finely grated Chocolate – no foil preferably

Crème pâtissière

  • 20 g Cornflour
  • 200 ml Milk
  • 200 g Dark Chocolate 70% cocoa solids, chopped
  • 80 g egg yolks

Egg white mixture

  • 200 g egg whites
  • 150 g caster sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cocoa powder for decoration

1. Oven is at 180 degrees.  I brushed the ramekins with softened in an upward stroke and then poured grated chocolate in so that it was all coated inside.

2. I whisked the cornflour with the milk and put it on heat, once it started boiling, it started looking like sticky, claggy paste – did not expect that, with my nephew’s help, I added all the chunks of chocolate in (off heat) and once smooth (as best as I could get it, given I was mixing it with glue) and then added the egg yolks.  Then I transferred it into a big bowl to cool.

3. Beat the egg whites to soft peaks stage and then I added the sugar and whisked in three parts.

4. Added a big dollop of whites to the choc mix and stirred it around and then added the rest of the whites and folded it in.

5. Poured it into the ramekins, tried as best as I could to clean up the ramekins and stuffed it in the oven.

6. On the recipe, apparently you bake it for 6 – 8 minutes. I took it out, I rose, but not significantly, it wasn’t really set…it was like warm chocolate mousse-pot things, my nephew looked pretty pleased when he was eating it.

I shoved it back in the oven and gave it a bit more time, and it came out, tasting deliciously light, sweet, chocolate but not heavy.  I was a bit disappointed, I want it to rise so that it’d look really impressive!

For next time, I’m going to try:

– Using a piping bag to pipe the souffle into the ramekins – no mess

– cleaning the edge more so it doesn’t ‘stick’

– giving it more time in the oven so it rises – or a even a hotter oven.

I’ll keep you posted on the next attempt, meanwhile, do you have any suggestions on how I can improve the rise of the souffle??

 

2 Responses to “Chocolate Souffle: Take 1”

  1. Joanne Says:

    I am going to try stuffing the last four down my throat. And truely enjoy doing it.

    • yeeshin Says:

      Hahaha…

      I just read that you can keep the batter in the fridge (in the ramekin) and then bake it as you need it!! Should’ve done that! NEXT time 🙂


Leave a Reply

