Bury Me In Food

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Weekend’s Feeding Frenzy – Mondo | Lure | Moo Moo | Max Brenner | Koi July 7, 2009

Filed under: Casual Eats,Fine Dining,Food,Food review — Dobsessed @ 8:54 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Well, right now, I’m still so full from the weekend’s past’s food frenzy, I don’t really know if I’m going to do any of these restaurants justice.

I guess I’m still in the midst of trying to feel better so I’ve been dining out more than ever – another excuse, I know alot of people whose birthday falls in July – there’s a few more coming up this month and we’re only in the first week!  This food blog will be much condensed…rather like sweetened condensed milk…arrrr.

Pistacio Souffle with lemon ice-cream

Pistacio Souffle with lemon ice-cream

Mondo | West End

Mondo has got to be one of my favourite restaurants.  It encompasses all the things that I think are important in an enjoyable dining experience: ambience, great food, interesting menu that changes seasonally, understated service – which is actually hard to find.  There are restaurants where their service is WAY too poncy and it makes you feel really uncomfortable, or service which is rude and abrubt, or service that is really fake.  I will admit that I’ve actually been to Mondo three times in the last two weeks and each time, the service has been friendly, just as it should be, but not overly so. I’m there to eat, I don’t really want to talk about my day…you get what I mean.  Also, their entrees, mains and desserts are all equally good.

Anyways, the food: I enjoyed the amuse-bouche which was cold truffle soup with spelt bred – came in a shot glass, smooth, creamy with a real depth of flavour, as in, the flavour lingers in your mouth, but not like garlic.  I ordered pan roasted fish with creamed leeks and it was delicious.  Fish is fish – as long as it’s not overcooked – the fish was cooked perfectly, white, flakey and still moist, the creamed leeks were absolutely delicious, creamy, full of flavour, I really felt like licking my plate – lucky I’m a lady and don’t do that sort of stuff.  Dessert was Pistacio Souffle with lemon ice-cream, very light and sweet.  It was a perfect end to my meal but I think the portions for the souffle could be smaller because of how sweet it was, the lemon ice-cream wasn’t a sorbet and was creamy and sharp.  Mondo is definitely worth the multiple visit.

Lure | Milton

Lure has won a few best seafood restaurant awards for a number of years in a row.  They have an open kitchen which is a great spectacle – but don’t wear your best clothes because you end up smelling smokey at the end of the night.  Live crabs and crawfish was found at the bar – done in a way that makes it look nice – not like in Chinese restaurants where you end up feeling sorry for the tied up shellfish.  I’ve been to Lure a couple of times, and the draw card for me are the Rockerfella Oysters – which, once again stole the show.

I had the tasting entree plate: Soft shelled crabs – which was crispy with Asian greens, Scallops – served without the roe (bonus), soft, not rubbery with a creamy sauce, tuna and salmon sashimi, the tuna sashimi had a great sesame oil dressing and seaweed, the oysters were fresh – no fishy smell. The Rockerfella Oysters – Amazing. So good that I had to get another half a dozen, topped with a spinach cream and salmon roe, just couldn’t get enough, the oysters weren’t rubbery either – the way Kilpatrick can get sometimes.  For my main, I got barramundi which was ok…nothing spectacular or particularly memorable actually.  Dessert, I got a blood orange cheese cake which sounds a lot more exciting than it really is – I seriously think I can make a better cheesecake.  Next time I go there, I’m only going to order the oysters, I don’t seem to really remember anything else I had there.

Moo Moo | Broadbeach

I really liked the fitout of this restaurant, from the outside, you see their bar which had lots of contemporary pendant lighting and walls of cow hides.  The restaurant gave me the impression of a high-end steakhouse, wooden and leather tables and leather club-like chairs with some very rustic elements – especially the random dry stack rock wall at the kitchen.  I ordered a Mooooo Moo cocktail which just tastes like a chocolate milkshake only alcoholic.  My entree of crab cakes was alright – it was a bit overfried, had a distict red Thai curry paste flavours but the accompanying sauce – though bright and full of colour was practically tasteless.  The Master Kobe – which is the speciality was too expensive for my budget at $120.  So, I ended up just ordering an eye fillet from their specialty beef section.  $42 buys a piece of steak and 4 cherry tomatoes, I had to order a sauce – I chose bernaise for $3.90, sides of french green beans and caramelised onions for $8.  Paying nearly $55 for a main means I had high expectations…I have to say I was a bit disappointed.  Yes, the steak was cooked perfectly (medium rare), had been rested – no oozing blood, but it wasn’t overly hot…not even warm.  It was one of the finest (grain) beef I’ve ever had, did sort of melt in the mouth, but the bernaise was a bit strange tasting – too much taragon? And the beans were beans – bit oily, but the onions were tasty.  I was way too full for dessert but unless it was a special occasion for a steak lover, I don’t know if I’d make the trek just for steak.  The service was very good, prompt, unobtrusive and efficient.  And no, the waits staff do not dance, chant or yodle.

Chocolate Souffle

Chocolate Souffle

Max Brenner | Marina Mirage

I’m going to keep this one short.  The souffle is actually more of a fondant and you should order it with ice-cream as it’s a bit too rich without the cream to balance it.

Koi | Broadbeach

Worse service ever.  Don’t ever go there.  Ever.

 

2 Responses to “Weekend’s Feeding Frenzy – Mondo | Lure | Moo Moo | Max Brenner | Koi”

  1. Ange Says:

    what was the story with Koi ???

    • yeeshin Says:

      It was 3 or 4 pm, they were open, full of empty tables, a few people dining. We went in, sat down, and a waitress walks past. We asked her for a menu and she looked REALLY affronted (how dare we speak to her?!). So we said, sorry, is it table service? And she said, in a very bitchy way, “Yeah, it is. But it says right there, wait to be seated.” The sign was on a gas heater by the way, the restaurant was practically empty, what’s the problem?! We got up and walked out. SO RUDE!!


Leave a Reply

